job vs job

by

CLICK HERE TO CATCH UP ON AMT286

from someone we only know as K – K is female, though, so we know the email didn’t come from the star of Kafka’s The Trial. We can also gauge that from the cheerfulness of the content:

I have a great job in Stockholm, where I am treated very well, and am basically my own boss. Not to mention we all got iPads for Christmas!

I won out over around fifty other applicants for this job, but although I was very clear when I started that I would like to grow with the company, they have said that no one they have met could do my job as well as I can. Which means they’re not too keen on promoting me.

In the meantime, another company is interested in hiring me for their Nordic branch of their business. Because it is an American company, I would be getting an American salary (ie. not capped or structured through Swedish laws etc), so I would be making much better money and have a chance to grow. But the work environment could not possibly be as good as this one.

So do I mention this to my boss now, or later? I know I could use one against the other, but I am not sure I have the balls for it!

Hmm, what’s more important: nice colleages, or progress? Being your own boss, or more money? You’ve already got the iPad, so that’s not a deciding factor.

Readers, go to the comments and tell K what you’d do when faced with this dilemma, although we’d understand you don’t have much sympathy for someone choosing between AN AMAZING JOB and ANOTHER AMAZING JOB.

ALBUMSCLASSIC EPISODESBOOKiTUNESSOUNDCLOUDFAQ
iPHONE APPANDROID APPFACEBOOKTWITTERYOUTUBEMERCH
2 Responses to “job vs job”

  1. crippledcrafter Says:

    Why not speak to both companies explaining your worries for each, and see what they say? It’s not using the situation as leverage, it’s trying to improve your life – while you like your workplace, being stuck in the same dead-end job will drive you mad(der?) and you will end up hating everyone and everything! And you may not get another offer as good as this. So see if either company addresses your concerns well enough, then make a decision – it doesn’t hurt either way!
    Hope that helps?

  2. Tim Says:

    You need to go towards whichever one means more to you. For example, the money would be better at the American firm – how bad is the money now? Is it enough to get by on? Do you regularly feel like you need more?

    I love my job – my colleagues, the work I’m doing, the money is pretty good, my boss treats me well. I’ve had offers to go to other places, and I’m confident I could get another similar job somewhere else (perhaps with a promotion and getting paid more). But at the moment I won’t leave, because there are too many things I like about my current place, that might not exist somewhere else.

    Using the new interest to get leverage would be most people’s advice; like you, I don’t think I’d be able to do that.

    Hope some of this is helpful but, reading back, it’s probably not!

Answer us back:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

