Thursday Listening Party

by

889C1CBE-2B81-4831-A3D745168E142F0A

On the Thursdays we don’t release a new AMT, we crank up the spoken word audio and have a Thursday Listening Party.
Click here to attend all previous gatherings.

Yesterday evening, I had a sort of real-life Listening Party – a little group of friends and I each chose a podcast episode we all had to listen to, then we gathered together to discuss them, a bit like a book group but for audio (I imagine. I have never actually been to a book group). It was a fun exercise; I recommend it. I listened to some shows I probably wouldn’t have tried otherwise, and was more thoughtful about them than usual. Generally, my main thought about podcasts is ‘Please be loud enough to drown out this argument on the bus’.

Anyway, if you’re interested, the shows which came out on top at Podcast Club were Song Exploder and Death, Sex and Money. Let us not speak of the bad.

Go to the comments to suggest podcasts I/Podcast Club should try, please! I’m always on the lookout for new things to listen to.

If you’re looking for a selection of different shows that you wouldn’t necessarily come across otherwise, try Radiotonic. The feed has documentaries, dramas, stories, all well made and worth your time.

Probably not worth your time is courtroom TV, but I really enjoyed this episode of Strangers in which the reluctant booker for those shows shares the ups and downs of the job. Also, it was a bit of a relief to hear a Strangers episode that didn’t make me a tad weepy on public transport…

Last week AMTpal Dave Pickering celebrated reaching 200 episodes of his podcast Getting Better Acquainted by letting other people get better acquainted with him, for a change – including me! Hear me interview Dave here.

Remember to listen to Olly host The Media Podcast. And there’s a new episode of my other podcast The Allusionist, all about how dictionaries look like they’re telling you the truth but are in fact LYING LIARS. I am very disillusioned. (DisAllusioned?) Click here for more about the episode and ways to hear it, or just play:

Have you listened to AMT310 yet? We speculate about putting on a production of Jurassic Park: The Ballet, reminisce about the Brownies, and spare no mercy for crappy chicken-flavoured crisps. Don’t even try to defend them when there’s cheese’n’onion flavour in this world.

See you next Thursday for AMT311!

ALBUMSCLASSIC EPISODESBOOKiTUNESSOUNDCLOUDFAQ
iPHONE APPANDROID APPFACEBOOKTWITTERYOUTUBEMERCH
Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Thursday Listening Party”

  1. Andrew Says:

    One of my favourite podcasts is The F Plus. Their tagline is ‘Terrible things read with enthusiasm’ and that basically sums it up. They take bits of various crap (usually fanfic or some obscure forum about fetishes) found on the internet and read them to one another. Doesn’t sound brilliant, but most episodes are hilarious. My favourite is the episode ‘Any Cling You Want’, where they read fanfic about wrapping Roy Orbison up in clingfilm. Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Answer us back:

